28/09/2015 10:00 PM AEST | Updated 15/07/2016 12:51 PM AEST

Johnathan Thurston Wins Fourth Dally M Medal As NRL's Best Player

Ian Hitchcock via Getty Images
TOWNSVILLE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 19: Johnathan Thurston of the Cowboys smiles after winning the Second NRL Semi Final match between the North Queensland Cowboys and the Cronulla Sharks at 1300SMILES Stadium on September 19, 2015 in Townsville, Australia. (Photo by Ian Hitchcock/Getty Images)

Johnathan Thurston has been crowned the best player in the NRL for 2015 and become the first player in rugby league history to win rugby league's Dally M medal on four occasions.

Thurston's incredible season for the Cowboys propelled his club into their second ever NRL grand final, against the Brisbane Broncos this Sunday.

The Queenslander received the award via video link from Townsville -- where he remained with his teammates in preparation for this weekend's decider -- while the NRL's annual gala event was hosted in Sydney.

Thurston won his first Dally M Medal in 2005 in his first season at the Cowboys, leading them to the grand final. They lost to Wests Tigers.

He also won the NRL's prestigious MVP award in 2007 and shared it in 2014 with NFL convert Jarryd Hayne.

Broncos forward Corey Parker was named the Representative Player of the Year for his efforts in Queensland's State of Origin series win, while his club mentor Wayne Bennett was named Coach of the Year.

Polling, News, Analysis
All the latest from the 2020 presidential election from HuffPost reporters in the US and around the world