03/10/2015 5:24 PM AEST | Updated 15/07/2016 12:50 PM AEST

Hawthorn Hawks Conduct A 'How To' In AFL Grand Final Demolition Of West Coast

Quinn Rooney via Getty Images
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 03: The Hawks celebrate winning the 2015 AFL Grand Final match between the Hawthorn Hawks and the West Coast Eagles at Melbourne Cricket Ground on October 3, 2015 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

Student Timetable: 2.30 pm How To Win A Grand Final 101 by Hawthorn FC -- did anyone tell the West Coast Eagles they’d been signed up for this class?

That was the tone of the afternoon once the opening bounce went up at the MCG for the 2015 AFL Grand Final.

Hawthorn put beyond doubt the fact that it is the team of the past decade by the time the siren sounded signalling the major break.

Cyril Rioli burst out of the blocks with a couple of early goals and was inexplicably unmarked as the Eagles looked slow to gain any composure.

The second quarter belonged to Luke Hodge early on – making a case for votes towards his third Norm Smith Medal.

While the Eagles showed a hint of a spark of something in the third quarter, it was fleeting as the Hawks went up a gear and stomped out the ember.

This puts Hawthorn alongside the Brisbane Lions with three in a row and an entry in the history books.

While acknowledging Hawthorn now as the team supreme of the past ten years -- as three straight flags would seem to outrank Geelong’s three won over alternate years -- it’s always a shame to see a lopsided game of skill and score in the big one at the end of the season.

The day started so perfectly for all those focused on the footy.

Colour and excitement filled the streets of Melbourne and all paths lead to the MCG.

The pre-match entertainment hit the right note as Bryan Adams proved to be a good choice by the AFL, following Ellie Goulding who opened proceedings -- however the jury is still out on her efforts.

But once the game was underway the die was cast with Hawthorn never putting a foot wrong and running out winners by 46 points: 16.11.107 - 8.13.61

The Norm Smith Medal fittingly was awarded to the player who set the game alight within the first minutes of play – Cyril Rioli - the number 33 emulating his uncle Maurice Rioli who won the medal 33 years ago!

Polling, News, Analysis
All the latest from the 2020 presidential election from HuffPost reporters in the US and around the world