02/12/2015 7:32 PM AEDT | Updated 15/07/2016 12:51 PM AEST

Steve Smith Named In Test And One-Day Teams Of The Year

Ryan Pierse - CA via Getty Images
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 05: Steve Smith of Australia looks on at the coin toss during day one of the First Test match between Australia and New Zealand at The Gabba on November 5, 2015 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Ryan Pierse - CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images)

Steve Smith has capped his stellar year in Australian cricket with a double nod from the International Cricket Council.

Smith's ascension to the Australian captaincy following the retirement of Michael Clarke came at a time when he was scoring runs for fun.

His 1,260 Test runs -- including five hundreds -- and 804 runs in one-day internationals made him an automatic inclusion in anyone's World XI, and the ICC agreed.

Smith was slated to bat at #5 in both the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year. He was joined in the Test line-up by opener David Warner, another no brainer, and form bowler Josh Hazlewood.

Test cricket and chill? (Picture: Getty Images)

Warner and Hazlewood were absent from the ODI squad but there was a place for Mitchell Starc, currently the #1 bowler in the world for the 50-over format.

Other noteworthy Test selections included English trio Alastair Cook, Joe Root and Stuart Broad -- fresh from an impressive Ashes win over Australia -- and Black Caps pair Kane Williamson and Trent Boult.

Boult also made the one-day side -- he and Smith were the only players named in both squads (although Root was 12th man for the ODI team) -- while countryman Ross Taylor found a spot batting at #6.

Cook and AB de Villiers were named captains of the Test and one-day sides respectively.

Test Team of 2015: David Warner (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng) (captain), Kane Williamson (NZ), Younis Khan (Pak), Steven Smith (Aus), Joe Root (Eng), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pak) (wicketkeeper), Stuart Broad (Eng), Trent Boult (NZ), Yasir Shah (Pak), Josh Hazlewood (Aus), 12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind).

ODI Team of 215: Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL) (wicketkeeper), AB de Villiers (SA) (captain), Steven Smith (Aus), Ross Taylor (NZ), Trent Boult (NZ), Mohammed Shami (Ind), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Mustafizur Rahman (Bang), Imran Tahir (SA), 12th Man: Joe Root (Eng).