25/02/2016 10:55 AM AEDT | Updated 15/07/2016 12:51 PM AEST

Tame Impala Win Brit Award For Best International Group

Ian Gavan via Getty Images
LONDON, ENGLAND - FEBRUARY 24: Kevin Palmer from Tame Impala with their Best International Group award on stage during the BRIT Awards 2016 at The O2 Arena on February 24, 2016 in London, England. (Photo by Ian Gavan/Getty Images)

Perth psychedelic rock band Tame Impala have won a Brit Award for Best International Group joining the likes of Adele, Biebs and Coldplay in the triumphant winners' list.

The five-piece were up against tough competition including Alabama Shakes, Eagles Of Death Metal, Major Lazer and U2 and were presented with their award by supermodel Jourdan Dunn and Henry Cavill at London’s 02 Arena on Thursday.

Upon accepting their award the group told a massive crowd: "It's already amazing to be invited, let alone be given an award to accept".

The band released their third album ‘Currents’ last year, which earnt them three ARIA Awards including the coveted Album of the Year. Two of their hit singles 'The Less You Know The Better' and 'Let It Happen' also placed in the top five of Triple J's Hottest 100 countdown.

Mark Ronson who is clearly a big fan tweeted that their win was the best moment of the night.

Fellow Aussie Kylie Minogue was also at the awards to present James Bay with his award for British Male Solo Artist.

Check out the full list of winners below…

British Male Solo Artist – JAMES BAY (presented by Kylie Minogue)

British Group – COLDPLAY (presented by Simon Pegg)

International Female Solo Artist – BJORK (presented by Craig David and Fleur East)

British Female Artist - ADELE (Presented by Liam and Louis One Direction)

BRITs Global Success Award – ADELE (Presented by Tim Peake)

International Male Solo Artist – JUSTIN BIEBER (presented by Major Lazer)

British Single – ADELE ‘HELLO’ (presented by Simon Le Bon and Suki Waterhouse)

International Group – TAME IMPALA (presented by Henry Cavill and Jourdan Dunn)

British Breakthrough Act – CATFISH AND THE BOTTLEMEN (presented by Nick Grimshaw and Cheryl)

British Artist Video of the Year - ONE DIRECTION (Presented by Alan Carr and Lianne La Havas)

MasterCard British Album of The Year – ADELE ’25’ (presented by Mark Ronson)

Critics’ Choice – JACK GARRATT (Already presented at BRITs launch)

British Producer Of The Year – CHARLIE ANDREW (presented previously at The MPG Awards)