23/01/2017 9:30 PM AEDT | Updated 23/01/2017 10:26 PM AEDT

Back-To-Back Victory For David Warner As He Takes Allan Border Medal

Warner is the fourth Australian cricketer to win the award twice.

Mark Metcalfe via Getty Images
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 23: David Warner poses after winning the Allan Border Medal during the 2017 Allan Border Medal at The Star on January 23, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

A stellar 2016 looks set to continue into 2017 for Australian batsman David Warner -- starting with winning Australia's top cricketing accolade, the Allan Border Medal, for the second year running.

Warner was also named Test Player of the Year during the awards ceremony on Monday evening.

In accepting the award, Warner said "it's a bit of a shock, really", even though he was one of the favourites in the running, along with Australian captain Steve Smith.

He had earlier in the day hinted at his belief that current Australian captain Steve Smith would take home the award.

"People said to me I can be one of the greats of the game but you just sit there and let that go through both of your ears," Warner said during his acceptance speech.

"You can only control what you control and for me that's being the best person I can be on and off the field."

"I love waking up every day and knowing I'm playing for Australia, and I wouldn't change a thing," Warner said.

Warner is the fourth Australian cricketer to win the award more than once, tying with Shane Watson as a two-time winner of the prestigious medal, behind Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke, who have both won the award four times.

However, Warner was not the only cricketer to take home a familiar trophy. World Number One Meg Lanning took home the Belinda Clark Award for the top female Australian cricketer for the third time in her impressive young career.

However, this year, Lanning's award has a different look.

For the first time, the women's award is a medallion, putting it in a category alongside the Allan Border medal, rather than the three stump trophy which previously featured.

Mark Metcalfe via Getty Images
Meg Lanning has been awarded the top cricketing honour for Australian women, the Belinda Clark Award.
Polling, News, Analysis
All the latest from the 2020 presidential election from HuffPost reporters in the US and around the world