11/08/2020 8:03 PM AEST | Updated 14/09/2020 9:05 PM AEST

The Masked Singer Australia Clues: Who Is The Hammerhead?

The guessing game continues.

Channel 10
The Hammerhead on 'The Masked Singer'

Season Two of ‘The Masked Singer’ is returning to Australian screens this year, with 12 mystery celebrities set to sing their hearts out and get viewers guessing as to who they are.

Hoping to follow in 2019 winner Cody Simpson’s footsteps, each of these stars will hide behind a dozen new masks. Competing for the title this year is The Dragonfly, The Frillneck, The Echidna, The Hammerhead, The Queen, The Kitten, The Wizard, The Cactus, The Goldfish, The Bushranger, The Puppet and The Sloth. 

Update: The Hammerhead on ‘The Masked Singer Australia’ has been unmasked: It’s Michael Bevan. 

The guessing game continues with the clue for The Hammerhead: “I’ve never started a fight... but I always nail them in the end!”

With a clue like that, many think this celebrity is someone who’s very handy. Perhaps ‘The Block’ host Scott Cam or Barry Du Bois from ‘The Living Room’?

One viewer had another idea, suggesting professional boxer Anthony Mundine.

“I’m saying Anthony Mundine... Going with the different angle of nailing/hammering an opponent in the ring!!! And he sings/rap... He has done a cpl of songs(even though not well known)with other music yet to be released.. yep I’m going with him for now... (sic),” they wrote on Instagram. 

Who Are The Celebrities On The Masked Singer?

The Echidna: Mark Philippoussis

The Hammerhead: Michael Bevan  

The Goldfish: Christine Anu

The Sloth: Katie Noonan

The Dragonfly: Sophie Monk 

The Wizard: Isaiah Firebrace

The Cactus: Lucy Durack

The Kitten: Julia Morris 

The Puppet: Simon Pryce 

The Frillneck: Eddie Perfect: 

The Queen: Kate Miller-Heidke

The Bushranger: Bonnie Anderson

Who Are The Masked Singer Judges? 

This year singer Dannii Minogue, comedian Dave ‘Hughesy’ Hughes and radio host Jackie O will return as judges. Joining them on the panel is comedian Urzila Carlson who replaces previous judge Lindsay Lohan. 

Channel 10
'The Masked Singer' judges Dannii Minogue, Urzila Carlson, host Osher Gunsberg and judges Dave Hughes and Jackie O

Where exactly is The Masked Singer from? 

‘The Masked Singer’ first aired in South Korea back in 2015, and since then it has sparked spin-off versions across 17 other countries, including Australia. 

Currently hosted by local media personality Gim Seong-ju, South Korea’s version is actually called ‘King of Mask Singer’ and airs on MBC (Munhwa Broadcasting Corporation). 

How does The Masked Singer actually work? 

The first round involves two masked contestants singing the same song, before subsequent rounds require a solo performance. 

Once a contestant is eliminated they are required to reveal their identity, and the last one standing is crowned the ‘Mask King’. 

South Korea’s version is known for having local stars and some K-pop names thrown in to make the show all the more exciting for its fans, but what many Aussie viewers may not know is that Hollywood is a big fan of the concept, both with its own show in the US, and the original in South Korea.  

‘The Masked Singer’ continues at 7:30pm on Channel 10.